PDA

View Full Version : Race / Sticky tires on mild builds

GTABurnout
07-05-2010, 10:19 PM
So getting a taste of the road course car stuff. I made a few hot laps on Sunday at a local track. My main issue with the car besides the lack of power is the willing ness to push or just downright slid.

Basically I almost destroyed a set of street tires.

Car: 97 LS integra
Ksport coilovers, and ASR rear brace and 24mm swaybar.

Car feels willing to rotate, in fact I was easy on decel and brakes because of the swaybar, but when the wife was driving she was not as smooth and the car still refused to swap ends so its very forgiving.

Basically the question is with such a mild build would a set of good road race tires be advisable? I know in the street bike world tires are everything in fack I beat down may 1Ks with a 600RR on full slicks.

Any recommendations on how to set the car us to rotate and feel more stable?

I am just learning....-

Importfan2
07-06-2010, 11:06 AM
what kind of tires where u running.. I was running star specs and they were doing just fine

GTABurnout
07-07-2010, 08:05 AM
Not sure the brand but it is a cheap street tire not a crossover type. I am going to do another track day on the 18th I will try to not over drive the tirs and see if that helps.

Is there a down side to throwing good tires on a mild build like mine?

crxhfb16
07-07-2010, 08:51 AM
star specs are a good dual duty tire that performs real well, nitto nt01 is a good semi slick tire they have a 100treadwere that's what i use on my crx for track-days.

taggart_lumpy
07-07-2010, 08:56 AM
Look into some hankook rs3's

ILIKETODRIVE
07-07-2010, 09:51 AM
Dunlop Star Spec, Hankook RS-3, Kumho XS, Bridgestone RE-11, Toyo R1R.

What spring rates are the KSports? Where do you have the shocks adjusted to? (aka - full stiff, full soft) What front bar, 22m or 24mm? What tire pressures did you start with? What did they get to hot? Had an alignment done recently? Etc etc...

INTEGRA DC2