PDA

View Full Version : DC Training.

ejFliP
04-25-2011, 11:32 PM
So to start off..
I'm a noob.

Just begun reading up on this a few weeks ago, reading up on the theories and takes behind the program..

What confuses me is the "Rest Pause/1SET thing" anyone care to explain that?
Supposedly the whole SET should be 10-25 reps total..where as a regular routine would be 10-20 reps in 3 sets right?

I dunno maybe it's my lack of knowledge for the whole "rep/set thing" but if anyone would care to enlighten me go ahead.

I'll take anything from radical criticism to silly comments haha, just want to know how this works..so I can actually work at it.

Thanks.

Spec C
04-26-2011, 01:49 PM
What is your lifting experience? DC training is not intended for beginers, or novices. It is intended for someone who has already put on a solid base, through other forms of training.

First off the rep range is going to depend on the muscle group, and exercise. You will need to research further to figure out the correct rep ranges for each body part, and for certain movements. I am not going to type it all out. If you however put the effort in, and come back with specific questions, or type it out, I will check it over.

For instance. Incline Smith bench press will be done 11-15rp, while Incline db presses should be done in the 15-30rp range. ( Dumbell pressing movements are done in a higher rep range, as if you go to low, you wont even be able to get them into position).

As for the rest pause thing. It is simple. It is one set that consists of 3 "mini sets".

Lets take incline smith bench press for example with a weight of 225.

You warm up to your working weight, which may look something like this:

135 x 12, 185 x 8, 225 x 1

Now your rest paused set begins. You will basically go to falure, rack the weight, take 10-15 DEEEEP breaths, go again to failure, rack the weight and take 10-15 DEEP breaths, go again till failure...DONE.

So it may look something like this.
225 x 8 x 4 x 2= 14rp