PDA

View Full Version : Arp rod bolts/bearing question?

REDREX
03-23-2012, 08:25 AM
So I'm building a Poor mans type r. I bought arp rod bolts and sent my rods along with the bolts to the machine shop. It's my first time using arp rod bolts, and I know they machine the rods to make sure it's flush right?
but the question I don't know, is does it affect the bearing size? I bought a new p73 type r crank with rod and main bearings as kit. Would I need a new size rod bearing after getting the bolts installed?
Thanks guys I hope i explained well

king06
03-23-2012, 10:32 AM
I know the arp bolts are going to have a higher clamping force. Your best bet is to plastigauge or get the crank and rods mic'ed.

HeikDiesel
03-25-2012, 01:45 PM
No you won't. They machine the rods to eliminate distortion caused by the arp bolts. The bearing bore will still be the same so unless you have a machined crank or something funky your bearings will be fine. You still need to measure everything though. Just because a machine shop does work for you doesn't mean you don't have to measure

trusohc
03-25-2012, 02:11 PM
you also have to properly strech the bolts

Rzarectah
03-25-2012, 05:50 PM
Anytime something is machined the clearances are going to change, whether it be 0.0005 or 0.010, you will just need to figure out the tolerances for the bearings you're using. Get some plastiguage and see what size bearings you will need, if using OEM then you might just need to move to a different color, something thinner. It's far better to take the time to check them than to run too tight and starve the bearings of oil.

HeikDiesel
03-26-2012, 06:24 AM