PDA

View Full Version : General engine swap question

HatchL
04-23-2012, 11:59 PM
So not too long ago I found out that my rings are bad in my EF. The sad thing is just a a little over 2 years ago I had the whole engine rebuilt, rings, pistons and everything machined and now from my knowledge the block just has worn too much and is smoking blue or the rings are really just warped.
My EF doesn't leak at all but it burns loads of oil. Almost a quart or 2 every tank. My question to everyone here is what are my options exactly?
If i were to do a swap I was thinking of going to a D16Z6 but is there anything I can do to get the D15B2 I have functional again. What would be more cost effective, or better in the long run? Im still learning the ropes and advice or opinions would be great

Also pics related tis My EF
Been awhile since ive been on AZHT feels good to be browsing the forms again.

Chef
04-24-2012, 05:32 AM
Keep it simple find yourself a nice lower milage dseries that is running and swap it in.... decide if you want to keep or change over to MPFI cause taht will help with "power" and response. whats you budget look like... if you want something simple i have a block you could use id sell ya out of my 95 hatch i know it did smoke Too bad... has some mileage on it but if you have the parts it would be an easy swap... i think first you need to figure out how much you want or can spend... then options are available because in a ef the options are pretty open...

HatchL
04-24-2012, 09:25 AM