PDA

View Full Version : HELP! 5-3-1-ers! what do you do when youre sick?

intel
09-24-2012, 02:29 PM
just wondering since ive been sick for about 2 weeks now (still under the weather).

ive made some attempts to keep up the progress, but i end up getting light headed very fast and dont want to end up injuring myself and prolonging my downtime.

I've been doing this 5-3-1 for a few months now and love it....but what do i do when im sick?

do i just avoid the gym until im better?

*when i return do i start where i left off? or back at week one for the 4 week process? or do i test my new 1 rep max again?

like what?

let me know thoughts!

rotneg
10-06-2012, 11:00 AM
take the time off, your creating a lot of demand on your body. depending on how long you take off will determine the amount of strength you lose, also how long you have been working out will be a factor. when I first started working out my strength loss would be quite a bit after 2 weeks, but recently I took 2 weeks off for tendonitis and came back and didnt lose much at all. while your warming up you should be able to determine what weight you will be able to do

Spec C
10-06-2012, 01:12 PM
just wondering since ive been sick for about 2 weeks now (still under the weather).

ive made some attempts to keep up the progress, but i end up getting light headed very fast and dont want to end up injuring myself and prolonging my downtime.

I've been doing this 5-3-1 for a few months now and love it....but what do i do when im sick?

do i just avoid the gym until im better?

*when i return do i start where i left off? or back at week one for the 4 week process? or do i test my new 1 rep max again?

like what?

let me know thoughts!
First off how sick? I mean there is a certain element of sacking up and training when sick. If you are bed bound then obviously you don't wanna be lifting, but lifting through a cold, or cough, etc is a normal thing for me.