PDA

View Full Version : Turbo help

Ef8crx4u2nv
10-26-2007, 10:05 PM
Okay so i'm leaking oil out of my IC piping. What could that be caused from? Also lots of black smoke from my exhaust. Please help asap.

smoovy
10-26-2007, 11:49 PM
are you running a oil restrictor on your turbo on the pressure side? you probably blew your oil seals on your turbo. could be your engine possibly, compression test???

locash
10-26-2007, 11:49 PM
Turbo could be fucked. Remove and inspect.

Ef8crx4u2nv
10-27-2007, 01:40 PM
I'm a noob to the whole turbo thing so what am i looking for when i inspect? Could it be that my pan is tapped to low and oil isn't returning into the pan, it's just kinda getting forced through the turbo?

kawgomoo
10-28-2007, 12:41 AM
the oil fitting in the pan HAS to be above oil level. prefferably in the pan where its slim and close to the motor, not on the sump side. otherwise the oil will backup in the turbo and leak out the seals. there is no pressure on the return side of the turbo. gravity only.

turbo may or may not be shot... fix the return line first then see where you are at.

take off the intake to the turbo, wiggle the shaft vertically to see if there is any slop. if you can make the wheel touch the housing with minimal pressure the bearings are gone. all turbos have a little play.. if its wiped out youll know. you will also be able to see where the wheel contacts the housing if its fuct.

Ef8crx4u2nv
10-28-2007, 01:52 PM
So i checked over everything and my return line is kinda crimped in two spots. Will that cause my problem? The dude i bought the turbo from said he was running it in his car with the oil pan he gave me.

Rx7tooCivic
10-28-2007, 01:56 PM
So i checked over everything and my return line is kinda crimped in two spots. Will that cause my problem? The dude i bought the turbo from said he was running it in his car with the oil pan he gave me.