AZHT.net  

Go Back   AZHT.net > Technical Forums > Tech Garage > Forced Induction

Forced Induction Turbo, Supercharger & All FI Setups

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2012, 06:33 PM   #1
Sesso
Music is my life!
 
Sesso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Goodyear
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
Anyone experience spark blow out?

Anyone get spark blow out or something similar when VTEC kicks?

Or should VTEC be disabled on turbo cars?
__________________
Pm me for Xbox flashing and repairs.
Sesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 06:38 PM   #2
C.R.A.Y.
ravi speaks in 3rd person
 
C.R.A.Y.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,438
iTrader: (31)
if youre blowing out spark either your ignition system is too weak or your gap it too much
__________________
Modern Performance and Tuning
We wont leave a rag in your motor

Brand tuning is under achieving
#torquedtospecmainssquad
C.R.A.Y. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 06:43 PM   #3
Sesso
Music is my life!
 
Sesso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Goodyear
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
Im at .028 right now. I have read that people are using 16. Still on stock external coil.
__________________
Pm me for Xbox flashing and repairs.
Sesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 06:56 PM   #4
mr.DUNK
AZHT Sneaker Whore
 
mr.DUNK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: AZ x SD x LA x SF
Posts: 6,073
iTrader: (26)
.16?! No
__________________
Supreme Garage
2008 Element SC (original BOX)
Elemental Motorsports
ElementOwnersClub.com
NWP4Life.com
BNguyenPhotography
mr.DUNK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 06:57 PM   #5
Dead Bird
Registered Sex Offender
 
Dead Bird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Viridian Forest
Posts: 12,932
iTrader: (20)
what engine?
Ecu?
Mods?
Tune?
Oem external coil huh?
Dead Bird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 09:01 PM   #6
Sesso
Music is my life!
 
Sesso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Goodyear
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
what engine? H22A4
Ecu? AEM EMS
Mods? .50 Trim, 272/280 cams .505 lift

Tune? in process and its running 11 - 11.5 AFR with 4 lbs. boost 18-19 degrees timing at 4lbs. Knock voltage averages .8 and lower.


Oem external coil huh? Yep its got an external coil.


I was kinda suspecting the coil is weak since its a 97.

Wires look factory to me.
__________________
Pm me for Xbox flashing and repairs.
Sesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 09:40 PM   #7
C.R.A.Y.
ravi speaks in 3rd person
 
C.R.A.Y.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,438
iTrader: (31)
there a reason why youre pulling about 10 degrees of timing for 4 measly pounds?
__________________
Modern Performance and Tuning
We wont leave a rag in your motor

Brand tuning is under achieving
#torquedtospecmainssquad
C.R.A.Y. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 09:43 PM   #8
Sesso
Music is my life!
 
Sesso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Goodyear
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
Just a starting point. I used to have it at 22.

I know 4 is low. Its where I wanted to start out.
__________________
Pm me for Xbox flashing and repairs.
Sesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 09:50 PM   #9
C.R.A.Y.
ravi speaks in 3rd person
 
C.R.A.Y.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,438
iTrader: (31)
please stop touching your car and take it to someone that knows what they are doing
__________________
Modern Performance and Tuning
We wont leave a rag in your motor

Brand tuning is under achieving
#torquedtospecmainssquad
C.R.A.Y. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 09:55 PM   #10
Sesso
Music is my life!
 
Sesso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Goodyear
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
I have to save up 600$ to do that.

Its not that I dont know what I am doing its that the EMS is foreign to me. I tuned the Evo I had myself on 22 lbs. of boost, NOS 75 shot, with methanol inj and ran 12.2 at 110.
__________________
Pm me for Xbox flashing and repairs.
Sesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 10:02 PM   #11
C.R.A.Y.
ravi speaks in 3rd person
 
C.R.A.Y.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,438
iTrader: (31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sesso View Post
I have to save up 600$ to do that.

Its not that I dont know what I am doing
pretty obvious that you dont, youre comparing a maf to a map system.

on four psi you should be able to get away with stock gap if not very close.
__________________
Modern Performance and Tuning
We wont leave a rag in your motor

Brand tuning is under achieving
#torquedtospecmainssquad
C.R.A.Y. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 10:04 PM   #12
theAngryMarmot
1 Marmot to Rule All
 
theAngryMarmot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Phoenix.
Posts: 14,801
iTrader: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sesso View Post
I have to save up 600$ to do that.

Its not that I dont know what I am doing its that the EMS is foreign to me. I tuned the Evo I had myself on 22 lbs. of boost, NOS 75 shot, with methanol inj and ran 12.2 at 110.
No offense, but you have to pay to play.

If you sunk all the money in the car, why risk it by "tinkering" - spend the money and get it done right.
__________________
I own a Ford, and build Hot-Rods
ďA manís character may be learned from the adjectives which he habitually uses in conversation.Ē -Mark Twain
theAngryMarmot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 10:06 PM   #13
Jason.AZ1
 
Jason.AZ1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: PHX
Posts: 18,140
iTrader: (33)
Dedspool said advance advance advance smooth set 2step at 6700 and boom done deal
__________________
HoodRich
Jason.AZ1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 10:06 PM   #14
Sesso
Music is my life!
 
Sesso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Goodyear
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cray View Post
pretty obvious that you dont, youre comparing a maf to a map system.

on four psi you should be able to get away with stock gap if not very close.

The things I dont know I am learning. I do know that hondas are map and evos are maf. My point was that I didnt blow up the evo so I must know something.

I would think so also that it should be fine with stock gap so thats why I asked. I dont know what honda guys do for ignition on boost.
__________________
Pm me for Xbox flashing and repairs.
Sesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 10:14 PM   #15
C.R.A.Y.
ravi speaks in 3rd person
 
C.R.A.Y.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,438
iTrader: (31)
depends on the motor, most will say 1 degree per pound of boost, on pump on SOME motors i have found this to be not enough, but its case by case. Lock your timing with the ecu, put a timing like on it to make sure your base timing is set or else your whole curve will be fucked, go from there.
__________________
Modern Performance and Tuning
We wont leave a rag in your motor

Brand tuning is under achieving
#torquedtospecmainssquad
C.R.A.Y. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 10:18 PM   #16
Sesso
Music is my life!
 
Sesso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Goodyear
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
[ ..
__________________
Pm me for Xbox flashing and repairs.
Sesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 10:21 PM   #17
Sesso
Music is my life!
 
Sesso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Goodyear
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulgt2164 View Post
No offense, but you have to pay to play.

If you sunk all the money in the car, why risk it by "tinkering" - spend the money and get it done right.
I will when I get my tax return regardless of what happens. If it croaks it give me a reason to pull the engine and have it sleeved.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Cray View Post
depends on the motor, most will say 1 degree per pound of boost, on pump on SOME motors i have found this to be not enough, but its case by case. Lock your timing with the ecu, put a timing like on it to make sure your base timing is set or else your whole curve will be fucked, go from there.
Yes sir. thats the first thing I did. I set base timing at 15 degrees. My ignition map is set at 1 degree per lb. I think I am gonna raise it back to 22 degrees tomorrow and check for knock.

I also think I will replace the plug wires and coil. Then test again.
__________________
Pm me for Xbox flashing and repairs.
Sesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 09:15 AM   #18
BDD
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: tucson
Posts: 15
iTrader: (5)
what knock sensor are you using? If it's oem then your wasting your time with that.
__________________
94 civic cx, 84x89 benson sleeved GSR block, Portflow GSR head, skunk2 tuner2 cams, 6262, Neptune, 724@28psi
BDD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 10:00 AM   #19
C.R.A.Y.
ravi speaks in 3rd person
 
C.R.A.Y.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,438
iTrader: (31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by T04rPowered View Post
what knock sensor are you using? If it's oem then your wasting your time with that.
very true. any single wire knock sensor is going to give you shit for readings.
__________________
Modern Performance and Tuning
We wont leave a rag in your motor

Brand tuning is under achieving
#torquedtospecmainssquad
C.R.A.Y. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 01:33 PM   #20
Koopa Troopa
That's my Honduh
 
Koopa Troopa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Okinawa
Posts: 3,241
iTrader: (6)
You're always going to have knock.....more so if you have stiff mounts... False knock and real knock... Knock sensor isn't gonna be able to pick the two apart..
__________________
Illegally Hardparked

Love your fellow man, stop buying Buddy Club Spec II exhausts.
Koopa Troopa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 02:13 PM   #21
C.R.A.Y.
ravi speaks in 3rd person
 
C.R.A.Y.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,438
iTrader: (31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Koopa Troopa View Post
You're always going to have knock.....more so if you have stiff mounts... False knock and real knock... Knock sensor isn't gonna be able to pick the two apart..
This is false, cars equipped with more sophisticated knock sensors have better range, this with the way the ecu looks for knock lets it separate what's real from false. Only high end ems's can replicate this. example would be, the ecu will only register a knock count at certain points in the combustion process not all the time.
__________________
Modern Performance and Tuning
We wont leave a rag in your motor

Brand tuning is under achieving
#torquedtospecmainssquad
C.R.A.Y. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 02:15 PM   #22
Sesso
Music is my life!
 
Sesso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Goodyear
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
What do you guys use?

I unhooked my balance shaft also so I am sure that the extra vibration is from some of the readings.

I drove my car today and did a 3rd gear pull with VTEC off and didn't get any misfire. Which is good.
__________________
Pm me for Xbox flashing and repairs.
Sesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2012, 02:26 PM   #23
C.R.A.Y.
ravi speaks in 3rd person
 
C.R.A.Y.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 8,438
iTrader: (31)
A Dyno
__________________
Modern Performance and Tuning
We wont leave a rag in your motor

Brand tuning is under achieving
#torquedtospecmainssquad
C.R.A.Y. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 03:07 PM   #24
HeikDiesel
 
HeikDiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 740
iTrader: (0)
do you have it tuned for vtec? could it just go super lean and begin to detonate when you add all that entra air?
HeikDiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 05:08 PM   #25
Mr.Burner
i-vtec daily
 
Mr.Burner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 109 E. Victory Ln. Phx,Az
Posts: 4,239
iTrader: (21)
Get it tuned plain and simple. Or atleast run some logs of the a/f on the street and get the a/f in a target range. Thats pretty simple to do with the right ecu aem/s300 etc.
__________________
U.S. Customz auto and fabrication
www.uscustomzautoandfab.com
Mr.Burner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 06:07 PM   #26
Sesso
Music is my life!
 
Sesso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Goodyear
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Burner View Post
Get it tuned plain and simple. Or atleast run some logs of the a/f on the street and get the a/f in a target range. Thats pretty simple to do with the right ecu aem/s300 etc.

Thats what I am doing. I saw some pulls on dynos and didnt see vtec engage on the preludes.

Im actually almost done tuning it without vtec enabled.
__________________
Pm me for Xbox flashing and repairs.
Sesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 06:18 PM   #27
HeikDiesel
 
HeikDiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 740
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sesso View Post
Im actually almost done tuning it without vtec enabled.

Might as well pull the turbo off and go back to a p13 ecu......
HeikDiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 06:21 PM   #28
Sesso
Music is my life!
 
Sesso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Goodyear
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeikDiesel View Post
Might as well pull the turbo off and go back to a p13 ecu......
Im gonna let UMS tune it when I get $600 and they can enable vtec again. My primary lobes are almost as big as my stock primaries.
__________________
Pm me for Xbox flashing and repairs.
Sesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 06:44 PM   #29
HeikDiesel
 
HeikDiesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 740
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sesso View Post
Im gonna let UMS tune it when I get $600 and they can enable vtec again. My primary lobes are almost as big as my stock primaries.
wut? You mean your current primary lobes are as big as your stock secondaries?
HeikDiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2012, 06:57 PM   #30
Sesso
Music is my life!
 
Sesso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Goodyear
Posts: 431
iTrader: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeikDiesel View Post
wut? You mean your current primary lobes are as big as your stock secondaries?
Pretty close man. Lol I'll look up the specs again

here they are.

Honda Prelude Type SH cam :
IN: .465 , EX: .445 <--- .465 = 11.8 mm

Current cams
Intake Lift : 12.8mm / Intake Duration : 272 or 0.503
Exhaust Lift : 11.9mm / Exhaust Duration : 280 or 0.468
__________________
Pm me for Xbox flashing and repairs.
Sesso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
©AZHT.net 2004-2018
Design by HTWoRKS