AZHT.net  

Go Back   AZHT.net > Technical Forums > Tech Garage > ECU/Programming/Electronics

ECU/Programming/Electronics Discuss all ECU & Electronics

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-03-2010, 08:32 PM   #1
VoodooXIII
 
VoodooXIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson
Posts: 84
iTrader: (0)
Can anyone solve this problem?

I own a '90 Integra LS with a '95 GSR swap of about 5 months old. Recently I was working on a head gasket change with a buddy of mine. After installing the head again along with plugging everything up- I encountered an issue when trying to start it up. The starter teeth spun for maybe 1 or 2 seconds before shutting off altogether. I shut the car off, then tried again to find that now it wasn't turning over at all. Alongside this fact, my fuel pump isn't pumping at all either when I switch it on.

I rechecked all my connectors and everything's honkey-dorey. Tried another battery with no luck. Checked all my fuses and they're good. Checked the voltage on the starter and its getting power. Popped open the ECU, and from the looks of it there isn't anything burnt out. I even changed out the Main Relay just to make sure.

All of my lights and radio are still working- but there's isn't a peep coming from turning it over to start. Got any ideas guys? This is my daily driver, and I've been bumming rides to work for the last 3 weeks trying to get it running...
__________________
'01 Prelude - Totaled...
'90 Integra LS - New DD FTW!
VoodooXIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 08:36 PM   #2
BigCountry
Official Fatass of AZHT
 
BigCountry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Eastside Tucson
Posts: 3,752
iTrader: (5)
Take a 19mm and a breaker bar and rotate your crank.... Could possibly have to much compression built up to be able to turn it over... I had this problem once before.
__________________


O'Reilly Auto Parts Team Member Store # 3621
in Tucson. If you need parts come see me in Rita Ranch


NikonMafia
MyFlickr

BigCountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 09:47 PM   #3
Mr.Burner
i-vtec daily
 
Mr.Burner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 109 E. Victory Ln. Phx,Az
Posts: 4,239
iTrader: (21)
Having to much compression? hmm i dont think thats possible. lol
plus his fuel pump isnt working, you have the injector harness ground on?
__________________
U.S. Customz auto and fabrication
www.uscustomzautoandfab.com
Mr.Burner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 09:48 PM   #4
BigCountry
Official Fatass of AZHT
 
BigCountry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Eastside Tucson
Posts: 3,752
iTrader: (5)
Well, being TDC in the wrong stroke? Idk... It's seriously worked in the past for me.
__________________


O'Reilly Auto Parts Team Member Store # 3621
in Tucson. If you need parts come see me in Rita Ranch


NikonMafia
MyFlickr

BigCountry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 10:26 PM   #5
Mr.Burner
i-vtec daily
 
Mr.Burner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 109 E. Victory Ln. Phx,Az
Posts: 4,239
iTrader: (21)
^ in that case, it shoulda never started and backfired like a shot gun.lol if its 180 out.
__________________
U.S. Customz auto and fabrication
www.uscustomzautoandfab.com
Mr.Burner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 10:03 AM   #6
VoodooXIII
 
VoodooXIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson
Posts: 84
iTrader: (0)
Yep- everything's grounded out. I checked all my wiring four or five times over, and everything seems to be in the exact place I left it. Although I did notice some oil corrosion on the two wire sensor right below my distributor. If that sensor is essential in any way- maybe that's the issue?

And if I rotate the crank, wont that move the cam gears out of tdc?
__________________
'01 Prelude - Totaled...
'90 Integra LS - New DD FTW!
VoodooXIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2010, 10:21 AM   #7
Full-Race Henry
Just Boost It Already
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 336
iTrader: (3)
i think your valves are hitting your pistons which is causing it to lock up. check your timing belt, cams, and crank pulley
Full-Race Henry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2010, 03:44 AM   #8
Mr.Burner
i-vtec daily
 
Mr.Burner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: 109 E. Victory Ln. Phx,Az
Posts: 4,239
iTrader: (21)
Quote:
Originally Posted by VoodooXIII View Post
Yep- everything's grounded out. I checked all my wiring four or five times over, and everything seems to be in the exact place I left it. Although I did notice some oil corrosion on the two wire sensor right below my distributor. If that sensor is essential in any way- maybe that's the issue?

And if I rotate the crank, wont that move the cam gears out of tdc?
the two sensors are your gauge for temperature and the other is coolant temp for the ecu. wouldnt hurt to clean them.. but wont keep it from running.

with the crank at TDC are your cam gear facing "up"?
__________________
U.S. Customz auto and fabrication
www.uscustomzautoandfab.com
Mr.Burner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 11:19 AM   #9
VoodooXIII
 
VoodooXIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Tucson
Posts: 84
iTrader: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Burner View Post
the two sensors are your gauge for temperature and the other is coolant temp for the ecu. wouldnt hurt to clean them.. but wont keep it from running.

with the crank at TDC are your cam gear facing "up"?
Yessir, they are.
__________________
'01 Prelude - Totaled...
'90 Integra LS - New DD FTW!
VoodooXIII is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ŠAZHT.net 2004-2018
Design by HTWoRKS