AZHT.net  

Go Back   AZHT.net > Technical Forums > Tech Garage > All Motor

All Motor Discuss all motor (NA) performance

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-02-2013, 01:28 PM   #1
villarino1k
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Anthem, AZ
Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)
ECT Sensor broke

Alright so I was trying to remove the ECT Sensor? Part of the old sensor broke and is still inside where it screws in. Wondering if anyone's willing to come up to anthem and get it out. I'll throw you some cash for the hassle. No idea how I would go about taking it off. I'm reading an extractor tool will do it but I've never used it before and am scared to mess it up even more. Here's a picture so y'all can see...


So again, the broken part is still screwed in. Any help would be appreciated.
villarino1k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 01:46 PM   #2
villarino1k
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Anthem, AZ
Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)
Oh and the part is actually hollow so I don't even know how I would try and get the broken part out.
villarino1k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 02:35 PM   #3
Fix.it.again.Tony
Formerly 3.8 R-Spec
 
Fix.it.again.Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,556
iTrader: (7)
use a bolt extractor kit

it is a reverse threaded head that would bit into the broken piece and allow you to loosen it as you tighten the extractor
Fix.it.again.Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 03:00 PM   #4
villarino1k
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Anthem, AZ
Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)
That's what I've been reading. I've just never had any experience with one before. I'd rather have someone who can do it instead of rrisking messing up even more. If you yourself or know anyone willing to come up and get it done, like I said I'll throw you some cash for helping.
villarino1k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 07:05 PM   #5
Fix.it.again.Tony
Formerly 3.8 R-Spec
 
Fix.it.again.Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,556
iTrader: (7)
It's easy man, think about screwing a screw into a piece of wood. Same concept except it's lefty tighty which loosens the broken part. YouTube a video example
Fix.it.again.Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 08:08 PM   #6
villarino1k
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Anthem, AZ
Posts: 52
iTrader: (0)
So that extractor should still work with this even though it's hollow? You can see in the second pic that theirs nothing for me to really drill. I watched some youtube videos but from what I can see, how it works is it makes a new hole inside the broken bolt which is what makes it turn.
villarino1k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 10:57 PM   #7
Fix.it.again.Tony
Formerly 3.8 R-Spec
 
Fix.it.again.Tony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 2,556
iTrader: (7)
You don't need to drill, the reverse thread on the extractor will bite into the hollow area and should loosen it up.
Fix.it.again.Tony is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ŠAZHT.net 2004-2018
Design by HTWoRKS