AZHT.net  

Go Back   AZHT.net > Model Specific Tech Forums > EK Civic

EK Civic Civic (96-00) Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-29-2018, 06:50 PM   #1
Nate13
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: mesa
Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)
What ecu to use on my b20 swap?

I am the proud owner of a 00 ej8 that is in the process of receiving a high comp jdm B20B swap
People on forums say get obd2b to obd2a jumper harness and run a p75 b18 ecu.
I was wondering how could a 1.8 and a 2.0 have the same map?! A tuner I called told me they do not and it will run my motor but it will run lean and the fuel and ignition maps are not even the same.
When I look up b20 ecus how can I tell if they are obd2a or obd2b like my car and motor?
If I buy a usdm b20 ecu can I bypass the immobilizer and will it be worth doing if a jdm ecu is hard to find?
woundnt a high comp and a low comp motor require a different tune and how do I know what the ecu is tuned for what ?
I can put a chipped p28 and a jumper harness but how do I know what b20b the chip will be for?a b20z tune might be my best bet because my motor has that resinatorchamber on top of the intake manifold but idk if I can even find a b20z tuned chip and I would like to stay away from converting my car to obd1.
Am I thinking to much into this? I just want my motor ran right
Nate13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2018, 11:18 PM   #2
Nate13
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: mesa
Posts: 4
iTrader: (0)
you guys where so much help,I am running a chipped p28 for daily driving and I have a p75 I will buy the conversion harness when I have to go threw emissions
Nate13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 08:26 AM   #3
CAPTAIN CAAAAAAAVEMAN
WAT UP DAWG?
 
CAPTAIN CAAAAAAAVEMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mesa, AZht
Posts: 3,745
iTrader: (6)
http://www.lmgtfy.com/?q=What+ecu+with+b20+swap
__________________
@AZ_caveman

PM me for all your graphic needs! Banners, vehicle wraps or decals, custom wallcovering, fine art, window graphics, flags, table cloths, etc.


CAPTAIN CAAAAAAAVEMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2018, 08:29 AM   #4
CAPTAIN CAAAAAAAVEMAN
WAT UP DAWG?
 
CAPTAIN CAAAAAAAVEMAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: mesa, AZht
Posts: 3,745
iTrader: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate13 View Post
you guys WERE so much help,I am running a chipped p28 for daily driving and I have a p75 I will buy the conversion harness when I have to go THROUGH emissions

__________________
@AZ_caveman

PM me for all your graphic needs! Banners, vehicle wraps or decals, custom wallcovering, fine art, window graphics, flags, table cloths, etc.


CAPTAIN CAAAAAAAVEMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 08:58 AM   #5
cbaracing
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Gilbert
Posts: 40,436
iTrader: (187)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nate13 View Post
you guys where so much help,I am running a chipped p28 for daily driving and I have a p75 I will buy the conversion harness when I have to go threw emissions
you dont run a vtec ecu on a non vtec engine. i mean you can but you will have a constant check engine light. also you dont buy a conversion harness to pass emissions. that wont work since you have a 2000 civic.
what you can do is get a 00-01 manual CRV ecu which will have the correct maps, plug in with no jumper harness and pass emissions (provided you have all the appropriate items hooked up on said b20)
cbaracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ŠAZHT.net 2004-2018
Design by HTWoRKS