AZHT.net  

Go Back   AZHT.net > Misc Forums > Car & Home Audio

Car & Home Audio Car & Home Audio Junkies Welcome

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-27-2012, 09:40 PM   #1
JorgeEf88
 
JorgeEf88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Phoenix Arizona
Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)
How do you wire an amp to 8 ohms?

i need help with this. how do you wire an amp to 8 ohms??

my amp is a Kicker 2500x1
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fp35hf.jpg (4.5 KB, 55 views)
JorgeEf88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 09:47 PM   #2
mannys97
 
mannys97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: phx az
Posts: 1,420
iTrader: (23)
That amp only does 4 or 2 ohms
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beezy View Post
200 cash n 100 in food stamps lmk
My wife says if I buy one more Rc car she is going to divorce me...................Man I am going to miss her!
mannys97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 10:07 PM   #3
JorgeEf88
 
JorgeEf88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Phoenix Arizona
Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)
what should i set it to. ima put a 15 inch cvr for now untill i get anotherone.
JorgeEf88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 10:27 PM   #4
Rufus
Home Wrecker
 
Rufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Out of the cage
Posts: 19,658
iTrader: (14)
There is no "set" it's a function of the drivers
__________________
BEFORE YOU PM ME: I cannot change your screen name.
Rufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 12:14 AM   #5
failedabortion
boats n hoes
 
failedabortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: west
Posts: 3,878
iTrader: (20)
You wire the sub for 8 ohms if your cvr is a 4ohm dvc sub.
failedabortion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 12:22 AM   #6
Stock?
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Mesa
Posts: 1,379
iTrader: (20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mannys97 View Post
That amp only does 4 or 2 ohms
That is the minimum load the amp will run at. You can run them at any load higher than that. However the power delivery drops off as the ohms increase.

This page provides a short explanation and a calculator:
http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/wo...igurations.asp
Stock? is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 12:34 PM   #7
JorgeEf88
 
JorgeEf88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Phoenix Arizona
Posts: 90
iTrader: (0)
ok. thanks.
JorgeEf88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ŠAZHT.net 2004-2018
Design by HTWoRKS