AZHT.net  

Go Back   AZHT.net > Misc Forums > Car & Home Audio

Car & Home Audio Car & Home Audio Junkies Welcome

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2012, 07:50 PM   #1
Chinky
aka craftysince86
 
Chinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: place where we say hella
Posts: 13,839
iTrader: (87)
Arrow Sub vibrations

I let someone change the settings on my head unit and amp and now it sounds like shit plus cuts out

I'm not sure what they changed but now one sub has vibration when there is no music playing like the gain is too high but when I turn it all the way down on the amp I still get vibration. Also the amp gives out after only 2-3 songs

Idk what they changed on the amp or deck but it's all fucked up now

Could the amp be going out?

Could it be bad RCAs? I have lower level monsters

I had none of these problems before dood touched the settings, any ideas?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by poormansr
dont mind chinkyeyedemcee just because he finished one ek he thinks he is ek king!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinm1981 View Post
bet chinky has no money
Chinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 08:53 PM   #2
Rufus
Home Wrecker
 
Rufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Out of the cage
Posts: 19,658
iTrader: (14)
kill dood... turn gains down.

Was it rewired to less impedance? If so, the amp might not be stable at a lower impedance.
__________________
BEFORE YOU PM ME: I cannot change your screen name.
Rufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 09:06 PM   #3
failedabortion
boats n hoes
 
failedabortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: west
Posts: 3,878
iTrader: (20)
What's do you have for these settings? low pass filter, Bass boost, Loud, Sub level, sub normal/reverse?

What amp and what subs? Wired for how many ohms of resistance?
__________________
I was paid
with the shadow of consensual rape
failedabortion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 12:06 AM   #4
Chinky
aka craftysince86
 
Chinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: place where we say hella
Posts: 13,839
iTrader: (87)
2 L7 10's on a power bd1000 w/ a cap

Idk about wiring too much so it's just wired positive and negatives together

I tried turning the gains all the way down on the amp but I still get it not as bad but it still there in the one sub, and when the gain is all the way down it doesn't hit very hard

I believe the low pass for the sub is set at 63 and the high pass is at 125, idk how to really mess with the settings, why I let the person mess with the settings. Idk what else was changed so idk what settings are but when I was playing that's what I saw. Bass boost is at 0 loudness is off mmm I'll have to look at what else

Just doesn't make sense how everything could get so fucked up from letting this person mess with the settings and how retarded I feel that I can't fix em, nothing rewired

And I don't understand how I have this is only one sub and not the other
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by poormansr
dont mind chinkyeyedemcee just because he finished one ek he thinks he is ek king!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinm1981 View Post
bet chinky has no money
Chinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 05:16 AM   #5
failedabortion
boats n hoes
 
failedabortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: west
Posts: 3,878
iTrader: (20)
Is the balance centered?

Id probably set the gain around 40% and mess with the settings from there until you can get the clean sound you want.

Audio tuning can be difficult for most but just go through the settings in the manual and should be able to figure out what each do. If you were closer it'd be easier to just take a look at it in person.
__________________
I was paid
with the shadow of consensual rape
failedabortion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 06:55 AM   #6
Chinky
aka craftysince86
 
Chinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: place where we say hella
Posts: 13,839
iTrader: (87)
Balanced centered?

This is what I'm running

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by poormansr
dont mind chinkyeyedemcee just because he finished one ek he thinks he is ek king!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinm1981 View Post
bet chinky has no money
Chinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 07:00 AM   #7
Nachooooosupreme
In my civic
 
Nachooooosupreme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 7,685
iTrader: (8)
Specialists sell fosgate. Take it to them and I'm sure any tech there will hook you up. I used to shop there years ago and their customer service is righteous! Gl
__________________
Hart
Eibach
Hasport
DC
Nachooooosupreme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 08:25 AM   #8
Rufus
Home Wrecker
 
Rufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Out of the cage
Posts: 19,658
iTrader: (14)
I see one channel but two subs. Do you have a fluke tester or similar to check impedance? If not take the subs out and draw how they are wired. Then give me the model number of the subs and the model number of the amplifier
__________________
BEFORE YOU PM ME: I cannot change your screen name.
Rufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 09:44 AM   #9
Chinky
aka craftysince86
 
Chinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: place where we say hella
Posts: 13,839
iTrader: (87)
yea its a 1000/1

the voice coils are wired positive to positive then positive to the amp, negative is wired the same

i believe these are the subs
http://www.kicker.com/sites/default/...aricL72004.pdf

the amp
http://www.carsound.com/reviews/amps/bd1000a1.html

capacitor
http://www.crutchfield.com/p_120HCAP...nami+capacitor
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by poormansr
dont mind chinkyeyedemcee just because he finished one ek he thinks he is ek king!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinm1981 View Post
bet chinky has no money
Chinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 03:12 PM   #10
Rufus
Home Wrecker
 
Rufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Out of the cage
Posts: 19,658
iTrader: (14)
Knowing the sub ohm out of the box is imperative....however, JL is supposed to be same output regardless of impedance.
__________________
BEFORE YOU PM ME: I cannot change your screen name.
Rufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 04:11 PM   #11
Chinky
aka craftysince86
 
Chinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: place where we say hella
Posts: 13,839
iTrader: (87)
no idea what that means ruffles! lol

i just wire wire all the plus' together and all the negatives together and call it a day
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by poormansr
dont mind chinkyeyedemcee just because he finished one ek he thinks he is ek king!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinm1981 View Post
bet chinky has no money
Chinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 04:28 PM   #12
wheelguy
 
wheelguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tucson
Posts: 265
iTrader: (7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chinky View Post
no idea what that means ruffles! lol

i just wire wire all the plus' together and all the negatives together and call it a day
Lazy...
wheelguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 04:33 PM   #13
Chinky
aka craftysince86
 
Chinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: place where we say hella
Posts: 13,839
iTrader: (87)
if thats what you wanna call it
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by poormansr
dont mind chinkyeyedemcee just because he finished one ek he thinks he is ek king!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinm1981 View Post
bet chinky has no money
Chinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 06:33 PM   #14
wheelguy
 
wheelguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Tucson
Posts: 265
iTrader: (7)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chinky View Post
if thats what you wanna call it
It's ok I've done worse
wheelguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 06:45 PM   #15
Rufus
Home Wrecker
 
Rufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Out of the cage
Posts: 19,658
iTrader: (14)
It just means read the info on the magnet of the sub. You might have it at 1 ohm which might not be good for the amp
__________________
BEFORE YOU PM ME: I cannot change your screen name.
Rufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 07:25 PM   #16
ek9
San Diego>Everything
 
ek9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: tucson
Posts: 94
iTrader: (0)
hit up specialist on speedway jason will take care of you
__________________
San Diego
ek9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 08:34 PM   #17
failedabortion
boats n hoes
 
failedabortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: west
Posts: 3,878
iTrader: (20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
It just means read the info on the magnet of the sub. You might have it at 1 ohm which might not be good for the amp
Could be .5 or 1ohm depending on if they're 2 or 4 ohm. Im just assuming they don't make a svc l7.
__________________
I was paid
with the shadow of consensual rape
failedabortion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:25 AM   #18
Chinky
aka craftysince86
 
Chinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: place where we say hella
Posts: 13,839
iTrader: (87)
now i think my amp is on its way out

get very little power to subs... like nothing close compared to what it used to be

that may have been the issue the whole time, maybe that kid messing with settings and the amp going out at the same time were just coincidence? idk

if the amp is bad would make sense the distortion in the sub from bad pre outs, the bass sounding like shit, and it cutting out

shitty part is the going rate to replace one of these is like $300 on ebay, and its the gen after this not even the same amp... sucks

gonna try and get it benched and repaired if possible, see whats going on. thanks for the help maybe, when i get back i'll make a thread asking how to wire them lol, i was taught to wire subs like this and its always worked for me

thanks again guys
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by poormansr
dont mind chinkyeyedemcee just because he finished one ek he thinks he is ek king!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinm1981 View Post
bet chinky has no money
Chinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:29 AM   #19
Rufus
Home Wrecker
 
Rufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Out of the cage
Posts: 19,658
iTrader: (14)
They can be done in series or parallel. Its usually dictated by the subs themselves against what the amp is capable of/limited by.
__________________
BEFORE YOU PM ME: I cannot change your screen name.
Rufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:39 AM   #20
Chinky
aka craftysince86
 
Chinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: place where we say hella
Posts: 13,839
iTrader: (87)
series is + to - on each coil

parallel is + to + on each coil

right?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by poormansr
dont mind chinkyeyedemcee just because he finished one ek he thinks he is ek king!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinm1981 View Post
bet chinky has no money
Chinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:48 AM   #21
Rufus
Home Wrecker
 
Rufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Out of the cage
Posts: 19,658
iTrader: (14)
http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/wo...igurations.asp

Find out what your subs are and this will show you. If it's two ohm each and you're effectively making it a one ohm load, look at the specs for your amp.
__________________
BEFORE YOU PM ME: I cannot change your screen name.
Rufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:51 AM   #22
Rufus
Home Wrecker
 
Rufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Out of the cage
Posts: 19,658
iTrader: (14)
That amp is 2ohm mono at minimum. Any less and the amp cannot handle it. Reducing ohms reduces impedance (actually doubles it)and allows more "activity" on the circuit. That amp might be seeing 1 ohm mono. We just need to know what ohm the subs are.
http://a248.e.akamai.net/pix.crutchf...575BD11000.PDF
__________________
BEFORE YOU PM ME: I cannot change your screen name.
Rufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 01:17 PM   #23
Chinky
aka craftysince86
 
Chinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: place where we say hella
Posts: 13,839
iTrader: (87)
^ thats not the same amp i have

mine the gen before that one, does that make a difference?

i have to pull the sub out of the box to to find out right? i'll do that tonight, im just gonna pull the whole thing out of my car tonight since nothings even working anyway
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by poormansr
dont mind chinkyeyedemcee just because he finished one ek he thinks he is ek king!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinm1981 View Post
bet chinky has no money
Chinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 03:54 PM   #24
failedabortion
boats n hoes
 
failedabortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: west
Posts: 3,878
iTrader: (20)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/wo...igurations.asp

Find out what your subs are and this will show you. If it's two ohm each and you're effectively making it a one ohm load, look at the specs for your amp.
They're most likely dvc so if he did parallel/parallel could be 1/2 ohm for 2ohm l7's or 1ohm for 4ohm. Or series/parallel would be 2ohm for 2ohm l7's 4ohm for 4ohmthe l7's. Don't know anyone that would wire all four coils in series for 8 or 16ohm's.

Chinky which way are yours wired from this link?
http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/wo...2&I=22#results
__________________
I was paid
with the shadow of consensual rape
failedabortion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 05:50 PM   #25
Chinky
aka craftysince86
 
Chinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: place where we say hella
Posts: 13,839
iTrader: (87)
this is how i have it

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by poormansr
dont mind chinkyeyedemcee just because he finished one ek he thinks he is ek king!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinm1981 View Post
bet chinky has no money
Chinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 06:46 PM   #26
Rufus
Home Wrecker
 
Rufus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Out of the cage
Posts: 19,658
iTrader: (14)
Ok so BEST case you're running a 1ohm load UNLESS you have 8 ohm subs, which I doubt. Overall, I don't think your amp is rated stable for 1 ohm. I'd rewire it and go from there.

http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/wo...s.asp~Q~2~I~42
__________________
BEFORE YOU PM ME: I cannot change your screen name.
Rufus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:18 PM   #27
98dc2
 
98dc2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: tucson
Posts: 3,149
iTrader: (20)
hit me up buddy, im pretty good with systems ill come look at it
__________________
RATCHET ASS VSM HATCH
98dc2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 12:22 PM   #28
Chinky
aka craftysince86
 
Chinky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: place where we say hella
Posts: 13,839
iTrader: (87)
finally cracked them open they are 2ohm
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by poormansr
dont mind chinkyeyedemcee just because he finished one ek he thinks he is ek king!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinm1981 View Post
bet chinky has no money
Chinky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 10:10 PM   #29
failedabortion
boats n hoes
 
failedabortion's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: west
Posts: 3,878
iTrader: (20)
so it was at .5 an ohm...lol how high was the gain before you turned it down?

rewire them to option #2 in this link that I posted above
http://www.the12volt.com/caraudio/wo...2&I=22#results

If you decide to just replace the amp here is a decent replacement
http://www.onlinecarstereo.com/CarAu...ZRX20001D.aspx
__________________
I was paid
with the shadow of consensual rape
failedabortion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 12:31 AM   #30
bumpstick
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: 'Murica
Posts: 3,004
iTrader: (50)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rufus View Post
Knowing the sub ohm out of the box is imperative....however, JL is supposed to be same output regardless of impedance.
wut? this makes no sense...


Sent from the future.
__________________
Need help installing Fujitsu FLASHWAVE products? PM me.
bumpstick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
ŠAZHT.net 2004-2018
Design by HTWoRKS